The National Emergency Management Association

Established in 1974, the National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit 501(c)(3) association dedicated to enhancing public safety by improving the nation's ability to prepare for, respond to, and recover from all emergencies, disasters, and threats to our nation's security. NEMA is the professional association of and for emergency management directors from all 50 states, eight U.S. territories, and the District of Columbia.

NEMA provides national leadership and expertise in comprehensive emergency management; serves as a vital emergency management information and assistance resource; and advances continuous improvement in emergency management through strategic partnerships, innovative programs, and collaborative policy positions.


NEMA focuses on six areas:

Strengthen the relationship with Congress and federal agencies


Develop strategic partnerships with key organizations and individuals who impact emergency management


Tackle emergency management issues through our pro-active committees


Hold two national conferences annually that bring together the most knowledgeable speakers
and emergency management professionals from around the country


Serve as an information-sharing and support network for state directors and senior staff


Offer professional development and training so that emergency management professionals
may continue honing their skills

Strategic Plan

NEMA embraces a 5-year strategic plan that enables the association to achieve our vision as the national leader in advancing the emergency management profession and programs. 


  1. Support the professionalization of emergency management.
  2. Strengthen the nation’s emergency management system.
  3. Support effective emergency management policy development and adoption.
  4. Ensure the ongoing growth, evolution, effectiveness and influence of NEMA. 

The NEMA Board of Directors reviews the strategic plan annually and updates the document as needed for approval by the membership.   

Successful achievement of the NEMA strategic plan goals and objectives requires the support and engagement of all our members.  We’re grateful for the willingness, collaboration, and innovation of the dedicated individuals of this great association. 


NEMA Officers

President Mr. Russell Strickland (MD) 
Vice President Ms. Lynn Budd (WY) 
Treasurer Mr. Robert Ezelle (WA)
Secretary Mr. Bryan Fisher (AK) 
Past President Mr. Patrick Sheehan (TN)

NEMA Regional Vice Presidents

Region I Mr. Robert Buxton (NH)
Region II Mr. Patrick Callahan
Region III Mr. AJ Schall (DE)
Region IV Mr. Will Ray (NC)
Region V Mr. Greg Engle (WI)
Region VI Mr. A.J. Gary (AR)
Region VII Mr. John Benson (IA)
Region VIII Mr. Darin Hanson (ND)
Region IX Mr. Gabe Lavine (AZ)
Region X Mr. Brad Richy (ID)

NEMA Committee Chairs

Past Presidents  Mr. Patrick Sheehan (TN)
Legislative  Mr. Shawn Talmage (VA) 
Resilience  Ms. Delila Bruno (MT)
Response & Recovery  Mr. Casey Tingle (LA)
EMAC  Capt. Kevin Sweeney (MI) 
Diversity & Equity  Ms. Dawn Brantley (MA)
Homeland Security  Ms. Alicia Tate-Nadeau (IL)
Private Sector  Ms. Shandi Treloar (EM Partners)
Legal Counsel  Mr. Will Polk (NC)